LEGOWORLD Utrecht

So day one is over, it is actually mid day on day two now.

Lots of impressions from day one and lots of talks with AFOLs from the Dutch AFOL community.

Around 70 of them are part of the Fan Zone at this year’s LEGOWORLD in Utrecht.

The amount of stunning MOCs brought by DeBouwsteen and LowLUG is quite impressive and I am going to do photos of them today as I spend yesterday trying to cover the family side of LEGOWORLD.

(Those pictures can be found in my flickr folder.)

LEGOWORLD NL 2014 Day 1

The Brick Engraver at LEGOWORLD? Really? It seems that guy is everywhere these days!

 

I spend most of Thursday talking to AFOLs and I ended up getting “caught” inside the GBC area which was an eye-opener experience to me as I got to learn a lot on how the modules work, how they DON’T work and I was quite surprised that it is not just about making a module that transports a soccerball from A to B. – It is soo much more – including “on the spot” repairs and keeping everything running smoothly. Plus it seems that those GBC AFOLs have an urge to make any LEGO element work somewhere somehow in a GBC module. I’ve seen ZNAP and Clickits as part of some of the modules! What’s next GALIDOR?

What became quite obvious is that the GBC modules are extremely tough on the Power Function elements and I have included some images in my flickr folder where it is quite noticeable how much wear and tear the modules put the PF elements through.

LEGOWORLD NL 2014 Day 1

Did a round of e-mails this morning and now it is back to the event for more talks and walks!

A great event indeed and it has only just begun!

LEGOWORLD NL 2014 Day 1

LEGOWORLD NL 2014 Day 1

2 thoughts on “LEGOWORLD Utrecht

Leave a Reply

